Content Studio User Management
Content Studio admins can view, search and filter, and manage users within the organization to control access permissions and maintain accurate team rosters.
Who can use this feature?
- Content Studio Admins — Browser
- Viewing Users
- Searching for Users
- Filtering Users
- Creating Users
- Editing Users
- Resetting Passwords
- Users do not require an additional license
Configuring Content Studio User Management for
To configure this feature, ensure Configuring Content Studio is complete.
Managing Content Studio Users as
To view the list of users, select the Users link in the Admin section of the left pane.
The Users list displays the following columns of user information:
- Username
- Display Name
- Permission Group
- Deploy Permissions
- Team
- Agency
- Active
- Action
An em-dash displays if no user information is available for a specific column.
Content Studio admins can select a column header to sort by the selected column.
Searching for Users
Content Studio admins can search for a specific user. The search functionality searches across the Username, Email, and Display Name columns.
To search for a user:
- Enter search terms in the Search field. Suggested matches display as text is entered in the field.
- Select Enter.
The user list is updated to display only the matching users.
Filtering Users
Three dropdown filters display next to the Search field at the top of the user list. Content Studio admins can specify filters to narrow the user in the list.
The following filters are available:
- All Teams - Filters by the Team to which each user is assigned
- All Agencies - Filters by the Agency to which each user is assigned
- All Permission Groups - Filters by user roles
Creating Users and Assigning Permissions
Content Studio admins can create new users and assign permissions to them.
To create a user:
- Select the New User button. The Add User dialog displays.
- Enter a Username.
Usernames must meet the following conditions:
- Must be unique across all Production Content Studio domains
- Minimum of 8 characters, maximum of 32 characters
- Letters must be lowercase
- No spaces
- Numbers, underscores, and periods are allowed
- Enter an Email address.
- Enter a Display Name of up to 50 characters.
- Select a Permission Group. This picklist defaults to Content Creator.
Up to 5 Content Studio admin users are supported.
-
Select the Production Test User Permissions checkbox to allow the user to preview data and pages using Production Test Users.
When creating or editing Pages, Page Templates, or Components, users can select from the Production and Sandbox CRM Test Users assigned to them via Teams. All accessible Test Users associated with these connections will appear in the Test User selection menu.
- Select the Deployment Permissions for the user. The following options are available:
- No Deployment Permissions (Default) - The user does not have access to the Deploy tab in Pages or Page Templates (the tab will be hidden from the UI)
- Deploy to Sandbox Connections - The user has access to the Deploy tab within content (Email). Only the Sandbox Connection Type displays in the Connection column within the Deploy Tab.
- Deploy to All Connections - The user has access to the Deploy tab within content (Email). All Connections regardless of Connection Type display in the Connection column within the Deploy Tab.
- Select a Team (defaults to Global).
- Select an Agency. (This step is optional.)
- Select whether the username is Active (defaults to True).
- Select Save.
When the user is created, an email is sent to the associated email address prompting the user to finish setting up their authentication information. The email contains a temporary password. After logging into Content Studio, the user is navigated to a page where they must enter a new password of their choice.
Editing Users
Content Studio admins with User Management permissions can view the User section in Admin mode, where they can make changes to the user information.
To edit a user's information:
- Select the Users admin section.
- Locate the account you want to edit.
- Select the Pencil icon on the right side of the appropriate user row. The Edit User dialog displays.
- Update the fields to include any required changes.
The Username is read-only.
If the Email address is edited, a new email is sent to the specified address including a temporary password, so the user can select a new password.
- Select Save.
Resetting Passwords
If users do not remember their password, they can reset it.
To reset a password:
- Select the Forgot Password link on the Log In dialog.
- Enter the user's Username in the Forgot Password dialog.
- Select Next. The Reset Password dialog displays and a Confirmation Code is sent to the email address associated with the user.
- Enter the Confirmation Code from the email message.
- Enter a new password in the Password and Confirm Password fields. The password fields must match, and the password must meet the following qualifications:
- At least 8 characters long
- No more than 256 characters long
- Contain only letters, numbers, and symbols
- Select Continue.
A success message displays if the password was successfully updated.

